[pve-devel] [PATCH container 0/2] Improve volume deactivation

Fabian Ebner f.ebner at proxmox.com
Wed Dec 1 11:12:27 CET 2021


Am 26.11.21 um 11:19 schrieb Aaron Lauterer:
> While working on the reassign feature we (F.Ebner & I) discovered that
> it is possible, mainly with RBD volumes, to get into situations where it
> is not possible to remove that volume as an old orphaned RBD mapping
> still exists.
> 
> Mainly when converting a container on RBD storage to a template and when
> adding a new MP to a container that is not running and reassigning that
> MP right away to another container.
> 

I feel like cleaning up such things should be the responsibility of the 
storage plugin itself. It knows best when a volume gets a new name and 
what needs to happen if there is still something using the old name around.

For example, after a full clone, volumes from both containers will be 
active and then reassigning or converting to template will lead to the 
issue again. There are likely other places where we don't cleanly 
deactivate. Of course we could try and hunt them all down ;), but 
quoting from [0]:

this is fundamentally how volume activation works in PVE - we activate 
(and skip the expensive parts if already activated) often, but are very 
careful about de-activating only where necessary (shared volumes when 
migrating) or clearly 100% right (error handling before removing a newly 
allocated volume for example).

[0]: https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3756#c3

> Aaron Lauterer (2):
>    template_create: remove volume activation
>    apply_pending_mountpoint: deactivate volumes if not running
> 
>   src/PVE/LXC.pm        | 2 --
>   src/PVE/LXC/Config.pm | 2 ++
>   2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 




More information about the pve-devel mailing list