[PVE-User] Unused Disk Remove vs Detach

JR Richardson jmr.richardson at gmail.com
Fri Jan 15 17:56:34 CET 2021


Hi All,

I'm running PVE 6.2.11, I have VMs with Disks on NFS shared storage. I
moved disks to other storage nodes but did not choose to delete the
old disk, so the old disk is still assigned to the VM in hardware as
'Unused Disk 0'. When I select the disk, the 'Detach' button changes
to 'Remove'. I remember in older versions of PVE, you could just
'Detach' disks instead of removing them. Is this due to the old
storage node is still on-line? If I shutdown the old storage node,
would I get the option to Detach Unused Disks?

Can I get around this via command line utility to detach the old disk?

Thanks.

JR
-- 
JR Richardson
Engineering for the Masses
Chasing the Azeotrope



More information about the pve-user mailing list