[PVE-User] WebUI - Ceph OSD page - remove vs. destroy

Emmanuel Kasper e.kasper at proxmox.com
Wed May 17 10:16:39 CEST 2017


On 05/16/2017 08:56 PM, Uwe Sauter wrote:
> Hi,
> 
> I just noticed an (intentional?) inconsistency between the WebUI's Ceph OSD page vs. the tasks view on the bottom and
> the CLI:
> 
> If you go to Datacenter -> node -> Ceph -> OSD and select one of the OSDs you can "remove" it with a button in the upper
> right corner. If you do so the task is called "Ceph OSD osd.# - Destroy", which matches the CLI command "pveceph
> destroyosd #".
> 
> Is there any reason for this inconsistency? If not, I'd suggest to change the WebUI's button to reflect that this is not
> only a "remove" action but really "destroys" the data on the disk (in a way that makes recovery not so easy. Yes I know
> that the disk isn't really wiped, but the default action of the button is to remove the partition table.)
> 
this makes sense, especially we already have the "Destroy" string
already localized
we'll look at it



More information about the pve-user mailing list